E5 Bakehouse

Nothing beats getting a weekday off when it is sunny and you can smugly wander through London while stressed city workers pace past you to their next meeting. Iโ€™m meandering through London Fields with no schedule or priorities, just a book under my arm and the day ahead.
A long breakfast in the sun is in order and E5 Bakehouse is just the ticket, a well established East London bakery famous for their sourdoughs and ryes. Not only that a little birdy once told me that Micheal Roux Jr makes a trip East to get his bread from E5 Bakehouse.
It always has a good buzz, and over the weekend at peak times it is busy, but itโ€™s a weekday, so I take a seat in a prime sunny location and head into the arch to see whats on the menu.
20160812_105139As recommended I go for the bircher muesli, a Chash chai tea and a maple and date cake. I want to stretch my legs, enjoy the fantastic weather and take my time over breakfast.
20160812_10510220160812_105400
The tea was perfect, served in a teapot to stay warm for long enough to soak up the morning sun. Chash tea, is a high quality loose leaf tea and their chai is delicately spiced with warming cinnamon, cardamon, clove and ginger notes, perfectly echoing the soft spices in my bircher muesli.
20160812_105349
The bircher was a hearty bowl of apple juice soaked oats, fruit compote, spices, milk and sprinkled with walnuts. Plenty of flavours and textures to keep me munching my way through.
20160812_105311And finally I still had a few sips of tea to enjoy my pecan and maple cake, which happened to also be vegan. Incredibly moist and gooey without being cloying, washed down with soothing Chai.
I must have sat their for at least an hour and a hour, it was the most peaceful breakfast I have had in a long time.

http://www.e5bakehouse.com

http://www.chashtea.co.uk

Leave a Reply

