Pho Viet 68

The formidable Pho Mile is one of my go to lunch/dinner spots.Vietnamese food is light and fresh, most restaurants welcome single people, couples or groups so it is a reliable choice. My obsession with Pho (a light noodle soup traditionally served with rare beef) has lead me round nearly every restaurant on Pho Mile . Pho Viet 68 has been on Shoreditch High Street for a while but it has recently had a refurb and I thought I would give it a try.

I popped in on a weekend because it gets really busy in the week over lunch, it would be a perfect addition to the food app Ordoo so you can order lunch at your desk and then just collect it. Anyway, if you want a seat, weekend lunchtime is your best option.

20161126_152024

I chose a couple of starters, a Hanoi pancake because I hadn’t seen it before and I was intrigued, and some summer rolls, because how can you resist! The pancake had a wonderfully crispy batter filled with chicken, prawns and a few onions with a fresh salad on the side, just what I expect of Vietnamese food, light yet filling.

20161126_152159

Of course I have to try the Pho here because that’s my go to dish; it fairs well, the broth has a great flavour, a little bit salty but probably still in my top three, a good quantity of rare beef and noodles, the garnish was a little lacking. Never the less a good Vietnamese in the heart of Shoreditch, I’m just dying to be able to order and grab my food at lunch on an app like Ordoo, maybe next time.

147 Shoreditch High St, London E1 6JE

Leave a Reply

