Mem & Laz Brasserie

Another day another date, we met at Highbury and Islington so plenty of restaurant choice. Being the women, I should let the man choose, and he had already mentioned, ‘he knows a place’. Off we go, past Ottolengi.. we arrive here Mem & Laz.

20151110_195203
As we enter they ask us if we would like Italian or Turkish, it is two restaurants in one. Man chooses, Italian (I would have chosen Turkish) and we take a seat on, ‘the Italian side’.
We are given the ginormous laminated menus with every permutation of Italian food, and I wonder how big the kitchen is.

20151110_203750

Above is our antipasti board to share, classic out of the jar/packet. All tasted ok but I sure I could knock this together at home.

20151110_212020

On to the main I go for veal one of my favourite meats, and it is a T bone. Cooked well and only £13.50, pretty simple flavours.

20151110_212014

Man has the steak with a mushroom sauce, cooked medium rare, looks a little medium, and a similar standard to the veal.
I did not have a dessert, partly because the restaurant didn’t entice me, and partly because the date didn’t either!
Overall fairly simple food you get what you pay for. Even though I wasn’t overwhelmed by the food this restaurant has a great space and can cater for large parties which is a huge selling point, but I won’t be going on another date here.

http://www.memlaz.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

